Send Me A Letter

Come down here and be my house monk. Course you can’t do that. Kids and all. And I am so much older than I used to be. I no longer look or feel very foxy, although god knows of course that I am a good-looking woman. Some things never change. I was watching Otis Redding at Monterey Pop, a time seemed to last forever, then. I don’t think I could bear to watch it if I didn’t, in some far corner of my dreams, think it could all happen again. Or never ended. Right, and Otis is not dead. He was twenty-five at the time of those incredible recordings. Twenty-five and bursting with a talent it’s hard to account for, with soul and good looks. Good moves. What if someone like that had lived?

Paul McCartney said, a while back, “I always feel as if the Sixties are just about to happen.” I wonder if he feels that way now. Of course, he seems healthy, he gets around. Hell, I’d perk up, were I to dash off to the Caribbean at the least sign of stress, and with a lover. Fucking is healthy. Though I don’t expect to indulge in that again. The men my age in Berkeley and surroundings are, how can I put this, pathetic losers? Obsessive old farts? That male rigidity of mind long since ossified. Were I to stumble across a good man just far enough out of a relationship and not taken yet … but for that, I’d have to leave house, wouldn’t I? And I don’t. Some days cannot, some just don’t want to. It’s just so bloody nice here, for one thing. I look out upon the brightest, shiniest golden light as it moves through the afternoon, french doors wide open to the air.

Now the breeze comes up, the redwoods slowly sway. The crows begin to call; soon they will all fly home somewhere to the west—not here, thank god, they chatter all night like a tree full of monkeys. Brown-shingle houses, flowers everywhere; this is an especially verdant year. It’s a lovely place to live and die, to be sofa-bound for months on end. Months that stream into years, so that Monterey ’67 seems a close and reachable part of the stream, an island towards which I might swim again—I still swim, still have my little pool—just as easily as the river will carry me away one day, floating my sofa, to that point on the horizon beyond all that we can see from here. I think about that, when I am especially in pain, especially useless. Floating, floating. It’s time that carries us in its arms. I don’t remember the last time anyone held me like that. I give in. It’s time which is my friend.

Take good care,
Zo

6 thoughts on “Send Me A Letter

  1. ” I don’t think I could bear to watch it if I didn’t, in some far corner of my dreams, think it could all happen again. ”

    I feel like that, too.

    Like

  2. Imposing. Did I fail to convey that there is not much going on here? Except in my head? Oh, yeah, and the weather, too. That happens.

    Love to see you.

    Like

  3. I can see you on your sofa as you write, pausing to wriggle slightly just to see if the sofa-Zo unit feels solidly moored to the floor. Is that just a little bit of drift or is it vertigo? Thrilling, either way.

    I visited my father in assisted living every Wednesday afternoon and we’d spend as much of Sunday together as he felt up for. The staff would remind him to expect me. More and more often, as I approached his room, I would see him sitting in his comfortable chair, arms on the armrests, and feet flat on the floor, as still as a meditator. He was waiting. Sometimes I would stop short before he’d heard me, just to watch him watch his world unfold in his mind’s eye.

    Like Billy Pilgrim, he had come unstuck in time. It was always about to be the day he met Rachel, or the day he boarded the troop ship for N. Africa, or the day he swam in Lake Como, or the day he saw how far the builders had come with his first and last new home. We had brought his chair from the den of that home. It was the best seat in the house.

    Like

Comments are closed.